Journal Articles - Basic Rules

The main elements of a bibliography entry for an article from a journal follows many of the general rules, but there are differences, particularly regarding punctuation for journal title through page or location information (CMOS 14.165-14.167):

Article author(s). "Article title." Journal title volume, issue (date): start page-end page or other location information (if applicable). URL, permalink, DOI, or library research database name (if applicable).

  • Article author(s) - see "Bibliography - Basic Rules" re author name.  
  • "Article title" - see "Bibliography - Basic Rules" re titles of subsections of complete works.
  • Journal title - see "Bibliography - Basic Rules" re titles of complete works.
  • Volume, issue (date) (CMOS 14.171) -
    • Volume - no punctuation is used between journal title and volume, unless no volume is given, in which case a comma follows journal title.
    • Issue - a comma after volume precedes issue; "no." normally precedes the actual issue number.
    • If no volume or issue are given, use date given and handle as if it were a magazine.
    • Date - no punctuation is used between issue and date; date is enclosed in parenthesis; year alone, or with season or month(s) may be used by a journal. 
  • Start page-end page or other location information (if applicable) -  see "Shortened Footnotes - Basic Rules."  If an article ID is provided, use it instead of any page numbers (CMOS 14.174).
  • URL, permalink, DOI, or library research database name (if applicable) - see "Bibliography - Online Addresses and Access Dates."

Journal Articles - Examples

One author, volume and issue numbers, page numbers, and from library research database:

Whiting, Cécile. "David Hockney: A Taste for Los Angeles." Art History 34, no. 4 (September 2011): 858-874. Academic Search Premier.

For an example of a journal article with three authors see "Bibliography - Basic Rules."

More than ten authors (first seven listed), and volume number but no issue number:

Salomon, Ferréol, Jean-Philippe Goiran, Brice Noirot, Elisa Pleuger, Evelyne Bukowiecki, Ilaria Mazzini, and Paola Germoni, et al. "Geoarchaeology of the Roman Port-City of Ostia: Fluvio-coastal Mobility, Urban Development and Resilience." Earth-Science Reviews 177 (February 2018): 265-283.

Issue only, no volume:

Sweet, Michael J. "The Devil's Stratagem or Human Fraud: Ippolito Desideri on the Reincarnate Succession of the Dalai Lama." Buddhist-Christian Studies, no. 29 (November 2009): 131-140.

From a website:

Goette, Richard. "The Command and Control of Canadian and American Maritime Air Power in the Northwest Atlantic, 1941-1943." Canadian Military History 26, no. 2 (July 2017): 1-27. http://scholars.wlu.ca/cmh/vol26/iss2/2.

With a DOI:

Tsygankov, Andrei. “Crafting the State-Civilization Vladimir Putin’s Turn to Distinct Values.” Problems of Post-Communism 63, no. 3 (May 2016): 146–58. https://doi.org/10.1080/10758216.2015.1113884.

Magazine Articles - Basic Rules

The main elements of a bibliography entry for an article from a magazine follows many of the general rules, but there are differences, particularly that page numbers or other location information is not required, and regarding punctuation for magazine title and date (CMOS 14.188-14.189):

Article author(s). "Article title." Magazine title, Date. URL, permalink, DOI, or library research database name (if applicable).

Magazine Articles - Examples

Date for issue covering two months:

Escobar, Natalie, and Sandra Dionisi. "Girl Power: How A Wrinkle in Time Liberated Young Adult Literature." Smithsonian, January/February 2018.

Date consisting of month and year:

Norman, Marsha. "The Borders of Our Lives." American Theatre, February 2018. MasterFILE Premier.

Date consisting of month, day, and year:

Elmer-Dewitt, Philip, and John F. Dickerson. "The Amazing Video Game Boom." Time, September 27, 1993.

Newpaper Articles - Basic Rules

The main elements of a bibliography entry for an article from a newspaper follows many of the general rules, but there are differences, particularly that page number or other location information is not required, and regarding punctuation for magazine title and date (CMOS 14.191):

Article author(s). "Article title."  Regular column or feature (if applicable). Newspaper title, date, time stamp (if applicable), edition (if applicable), section (if applicable). URL, permalink, DOI, or library research database name (if applicable).

  • Article author(s) - see "Bibliography - Basic Rules" re author names.   If there is no author and article is from a news service, use the news service name here (CMOS 14.200).
  • "Article title" - see "Bibliography - Basic Rules" re titles of subsections of complete works.
  • Regular column name or feature name (if applicable) - when an article falls under a regular column or feature, the column or feature name is capitalized and appears with no quotation marks (CMOS 14.195).
  • Newspaper title - see "Bibliography - Basic Rules" re titles of complete works. If a newspaper title starts with "The," it is usually omitted (CMOS 14.193).
  • Date -  even if a volume and issue are given, date is all that is normally used.
  • Time stamp (if applicable) - online articles may be updated, in which case a timestamp should be included.
  • Edition (if applicable)  - newspapers may publish multiple editions for a single day, and content may change between editions, so it may be useful to include edition.
  • Section (if applicable) - section title or number may be useful to include.
  • URL, permalink, DOI, or library research database name (if applicable) - see "Bibliography - Online Addresses and Access Dates."

Newspaper Articles - Examples

Article with three authors from a library research database:

Madej, Patricia, Joseph N. DiStefano, and Jacob Adelman. "Wide Outcry Follows Starbucks Arrests." Philadelphia Inquirer, April 15, 2018. ProQuest Global Newsstream.

Article from a regular column, with an edition and a section:

Buckmaster, Luke. "Breath Review - Profound Tim Winton Adaptation Swirls with Soul and Beauty." Reviews. Guardian, May 2, 2018, US edition, Culture. https://www.theguardian.com/film/2018/may/03/breath-review-profound-tim-winton-adaptation-swirls-with-soul-and-beauty.

Article from a regular column, with a time stamp:

Bever, Lindsey. "Massive Dust Storm Blasts Northern India, Leaving at Least 100 Dead." Capital Weather Gang. Washington Post, May 3, 2018, 12:30 p.m. EST. https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/capital-weather-gang/wp/2018/05/03/india-dust-storm-uttar-pradesh-rajasthan-officials-say-at-least-100-dead/?utm_term=.ac6782fcdedc.