Library Databases for News and Current Events
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new windowImage collection from the Associated Press. It contains 12+ million photographs dating back to 1826 and 340,000+ professionally-produced graphics.
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowContains balanced, pro/con formatted articles with key facts, arguments, history, and current context on today’s crucial issues and hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
A collection of 19,000+ issues from alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowAccess to the newspaper dates back to June 1980. Also access the New York Times Magazine and Book Review dating back to 1997.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowCover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.
- Philadelphia Inquirer This link opens in a new windowPhiladelphia Inquirer Collection. Search web-only content, full image editions, and full-text editions.
- ProQuest Global NewsstreamLooking for the Global Newsstream database? We now offer Newsbank's Access World News for global news. Find it under "Newsbank".
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to the Wall Street Journal (Eastern ed.) from Jan 2, 1984 - present.
- World News Digest This link opens in a new windowContains 300,000 original articles and a vast archive covering every major event since its inception. Offers concise summaries of current events and clearly written essays on the top issues of the day.
Current Events and News
- Accuracy in MediaMedia watchdog site from a conservative perspective.
- Associated Press"The Essential Global News Network"
- The CommunitarianThe student newspaper of Delaware County Community College.
- Fact Check.orgA non partisan, non-profit "consumer advocate" website for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania.
- Fact Checker from The Washington PostChecks the facts behind the political rhetoric.
- Historic American Newspapers: Chronicling America - The Library of CongressTogether with the National Digital Newspaper Program, the Library of Congress has created this website to provide access to select newspapers from the period 1900 to 1910.
- Information Futures LabFrom Brown University, this lab researches "the harms of misinformation, data deficits, outdated communications practices and other barriers to meeting the information needs of communities. "
- Link TVThis site is dedicated to "providing global perspectives on news, events and culture."
- The Magazine RackA collection of digitized magazines and monthly publications that can be accessed for free. Some titles go back to the 18th century.
- Newspaper NavigatorThis Library of Congress site searches 1.56 million historic newspaper photos. Simply put in a keyword to find an image.
- The Pennsylvania Newspaper ArchiveA free historical full-text searchable newspaper database. Newspaper holdings will continue to be added as they become available from all 67 counties in Pennsylvania stretching back from the colonial era to the present day.
- PolitiFactA fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics. PolitiFact is run by editors and reporters from the Tampa Bay Times, an independent newspaper in Florida.
- PRI's The WorldOn this site, Public Radio International offers news from around the world. Includes podcasts, RSS feeds, and online reports.
- Today's Front Pages - Freedom ForumEach morning, newspapers from around the globe send the front page of their newspaper to the Freedom Forum who posts these pages online. Newspaper pages can be viewed as a gallery, list, or map.
- U.S. News Archives on the WebProvides links to U.S. news archives available on the internet.
- World Press.orgNews from international newspapers.