Getting Started
Welcome!
If you need help, please contact a librarian. We are available via chat, email, phone, and appointment.
Find Articles
- JEMS: Journal of Emergency Medical ServicesAccess breaking news, clinical findings, evidence-based patient care, technology reviews, career preparation and continuing education materials, and more from the preeminent online emergency medical services community.
- BioMed Central: Emergency MedicineOpen (free) access, scholarly peer-reviewed journal covering:
Pre-hospital patient assessment and triage treatment
Emergency medicine
Disaster medicine
Patient hand-off/transfer
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new windowNOTE: limit 4 users at a time
Provides full text articles from the top nursing and allied health literature available - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowCredible, professional quality nursing and health science articles.
- Medline This link opens in a new windowSearch across more than 5,600 scholarly journals on biomedical literature created by the US National Library of Medicine.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowFulltext, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Contains 153,000 articles from 80 journals published by the APA and others.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowIndexes 80 full-text popular health magazines, 110 reference books, Clinical Reference Systems reports and pamphlets.
- OVID Nursing Journals This link opens in a new windowSearch 50+ professional/scholarly full-text journal titles selected for the research and study needs of DCCC students in the nursing and allied health programs.
- Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection This link opens in a new windowProviding access to nearly 560 full text popular and scholarly publications. Topics covered: emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Find Journals
In addition to finding articles through databases, you can read our online health science journals by either browsing for journals by subject or searching for journals by title.
- A to Z Publication List This link opens in a new windowNOTE that you are searching JOURNAL TITLES, not article titles! To search for articles, use a database (see above).
You can also use this resource to browse by journal subject.
Stop by the Marple Learning Commons and browse the periodical shelves!
The following titles are held in print in the Learning Commons, and are indexed (searchable) in the CINAHL database:
- AORN Journal
- Archives of Psychiatric Nursing
- Geriatric Nursing
- Journal of Pediatric Nursing
- Medical Clinics of North America (older issues shelved in stacks - current available via ScienceDirect - link here)
- Nursing Clinics of North America (older issues shelved in stacks - current available via ScienceDirect - link here)
- Nursing Outlook
- The Surgical Technologist
Find Books
- R2 Digital Library for Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new windowNOTE: 1 user per e-book at a time.
E-book titles selected specifically for DCCC Nursing, Allied Health, and Neurodiagnostic Technology students. - OVID Nursing Journals This link opens in a new windowSearch 50+ professional/scholarly full-text journal titles selected for the research and study needs of DCCC students in the nursing and allied health programs.
- Emergency Medicine Ebooks on EBSCOhostEbooks from EBSCOhost with an emergency medicine subject tag.
- Magill's Medical Guide, 9th ed. (2022) This link opens in a new windowProvides basic information about diseases, disorders, medical procedures, anatomy, physiology and pharmaceuticals arranged alphabetically by topic.
Medicine Call Numbers
Use these call numbers to find medical books in the circulating collection ("stacks") and reference collection.
| Call number | Subject |
| R | Medicine |
| RB | Pathology |
| RC | Internal Medicine |
| RD | Surgery |
| RJ | Pediatrics |
| RM | Therapeutics & Pharmacology |
| RT | Nursing |
Subscribe to e-Newsletters
Subscribe to RSS Feeds and e-newsletters from the following sites to stay on top of current news and information from the emergency medical profession.
- Journal of Emergency Medical ServicesComplete list of JEMS.com RSS feeds
- EMS World e-NewslettersFree e-newsletters on a variety of topics from EMS World.
Online Videos
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowFilms On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform offering 27,000+ videos on a variety of subjects.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowVideo streaming service offering access to more than 30,000 documentaries, movies, and educational videos from thousands of producers such as Criterion Collection, PBS, Great Courses, Kino Lorber and more.
