Research tools from the library
The best database for your research will depend on the type of information you need. Below are a few to help you get started.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowYour best bet for background research with access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks, plus 700+ highly-regarded publication titles.
- Summon This link opens in a new windowSummon enables you to search across Library Services' collection of electronic resources from a single search box.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary research database that provides access to 3,200+ full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources
- ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to newspaper content from major national and international papers, including the Philadelphia Inquirer, the New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal. Coverage varies by title but begins in the 1970s and includes current content.
- A-Z DatabasesAll DCCC databases listed here. Narrow to databases in your subjects in the ALL SUBJECTS drop down menu.
Resources for argumentative, persuasive, and informative assignments
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowBackground, popular, academic, and opinion pieces on today's social issues. Try "Browse issues" for topic pages on "Disability Rights" or "Special Education and Learning Disabilities."
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowOverview and pro/con articles on today's social issues. View Issues to find topic pages on "Disability Rights" and "Special Education."