Getting Started
Welcome!
- Please see the tabs on the left sidebar to find information in various resources.
- If you need further help, please contact a librarian. We are available via chat, email, phone, and appointment.
Articles
Articles are available through a variety of DCCC databases.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new windowNOTE: limit 4 users at a time
Provides full text articles from the top nursing and allied health literature available - Medline This link opens in a new windowSearch across more than 5,600 scholarly journals on biomedical literature created by the US National Library of Medicine.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowComprehensive search interface for professional and peer reviewed (scholarly) biomedical literature maintained by the US National Library of Medicine.
- OVID Nursing Journals This link opens in a new windowSearch 50+ professional/scholarly full-text journal titles selected for the research and study needs of DCCC students in the nursing and allied health programs.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowCredible, professional quality nursing and health science articles.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowIndexes 80 full-text popular health magazines, 110 reference books, Clinical Reference Systems reports and pamphlets.
Books
Health and medical eBooks are available via the below databases. Books and eBooks can also be located by using the Summon search tool.
- Magill's Medical Guide, 9th ed. (2022) This link opens in a new windowProvides basic information about diseases, disorders, medical procedures, anatomy, physiology and pharmaceuticals arranged alphabetically by topic.
- R2 Digital Library for Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new windowNOTE: 1 user per e-book at a time.
E-book titles selected specifically for DCCC Nursing, Allied Health, and Neurodiagnostic Technology students. - OVID Nursing Journals This link opens in a new windowSearch 50+ professional/scholarly full-text journal titles selected for the research and study needs of DCCC students in the nursing and allied health programs.
Medicine Call Numbers
Use these call numbers to find medical books in the Marple Learning Commons circulating ("stacks") and reference collection.
| Call number | Subject |
| R | Medicine |
| RB | Pathology |
| RC | Internal Medicine |
| RD | Surgery |
| RJ | Pediatrics |
| RM | Therapeutics & Pharmacology |
| RT | Nursing |
Videos
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowFilms On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform offering 27,000+ videos on a variety of subjects.
- Docuseek2 This link opens in a new windowAccess over 600 streaming documentaries for your classroom, online and hybrid courses.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowVideo streaming service offering access to more than 30,000 documentaries, movies, and educational videos from thousands of producers such as Criterion Collection, PBS, Great Courses, Kino Lorber and more.
Find Journals
In addition to finding articles through databases, you can read our online health science journals by either browsing for journals by subject or searching for journals by title.
- A to Z Publication List This link opens in a new windowSearchable index of the library's full-text journals & magazines.
Stop by the Marple Learning Commons and browse the periodical shelves!
The following titles are held in print in the Learning Commons, and are indexed (searchable) in the CINAHL database:
- AORN Journal
- Archives of Psychiatric Nursing
- CIN: Computers, Informatics, Nursing
- Geriatric Nursing
- Journal of Pediatric Nursing
- Medical Clinics of North America (shelved in stacks)
- Nursing Clinics of North America (shelved in stacks)
- Nursing Outlook
- The Surgical Technologist