Encyclopedias
- Pennsylvania Law Encyclopedia (print)Articles on a variety of legal topics, available in print at Marple campus for use in the Learning Commons.
- Pennsylvania Law Encyclopedia (e-resource)The online version, via Lexis Advance. Requires individual username and password. Contact your instructor for login instructions.
- Gale Encyclopedia of American Law (formerly West's Encyclopedia of American Law) (e-resource)delaGATE login required. The online Encyclopedia covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents.
Be sure to "search all all volumes in this edition" to find the most up-to-date information.
Dictionaries
- Black's Law Dictionary (print)A comprehensive and authoritative legal dictionary, available in print on Marple Campus for use in the Learning Commons only.
- Collins Dictionary of Law (e-resource)delaGATE login required. Comprehensive coverage of business law, with a wide coverage of business law terms.
- Garner's Dictionary of Literary UsageA Thorough analysis of modern legal vocabulary and style.
Codes and Statutes
- United States Code (U.S.C.) (webpage)The offiicial, unannotated version of the United States Code, in title order. Includes a popular name table and other indexes, sometimes needed for homework.
- United States Code Service (U.S.C.S.) (e-resource)Lexis's annotation of the U.S. Code. Special username and password are required. Please contact your PLG professor for access information.
- United States Statutes at Large (webpage)All laws passed by the United States Congress, in chronological order. 1789-present. Older statutes are large pdf files.
- Unofficial Purdon's Pennsylvania Statutes from Westlaw (webpage)Unannoted consolidated statutes. Provided by WestLaw. For annotations to case law and statutory history, please use the print version.
- Purdon's Pennsylvania Statutes, annotated (print)Official print version of the PA statutes with annotations to case law and statutory history. Find these complete, up-to-date statutes in the Marple Learning Commons.
- HeinOnline National Survey of State Laws This link opens in a new windowdelaGATE login required.
Provides an overall view of some of the most sought-after and controversial legal topics in the United States. Users are able to make basic state-by-state comparisons of current state laws.