Databases for Controversial Issues
To find a controversial topic or to gather research on a topic, Opposing Viewpoints and Issues and Controversies are excellent databases to begin your research. Both databases provide full reports on topics that give Pro and Con sides of the argument in addition to background information, timelines, newspaper articles, statistics, and further research.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowView important issues from an alphabetical list of current controversial topics that link directly to magazine/newspaper articles and other resources.
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowContains balanced, pro/con formatted articles with key facts, arguments, history, and current context on today’s crucial issues and hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
Additional Databases
In addition to Opposing Viewpoints and Issues and Controversies, the following databases can be searched for newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles on your topic for additional information to support your position.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides magazine and newspaper articles as well as scholarly journal articles.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides general interest resources and popular magazine, newspaper, and mass media articles.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides selected news articles from American and international newspapers.
- ProQuest Global NewsstreamProvides access to newspaper content from major national and international papers. Coverage varies by title but begins in the 1970s and includes current content.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
- Philadelphia Inquirer This link opens in a new window
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- World News Digest This link opens in a new windowContains 300,000 original articles and a vast archive covering every major event since its inception. Offers concise summaries of current events and clearly written essays on the top issues of the day.
Scholarly Information on the Web
Google Scholar allows you to search for scholarly articles online.
Requesting Articles
Interlibrary Loan
Delaware County Community College's InterLibrary Loan (ILL) service obtains materials that are not currently owned by the library.