Microbiology Internet Resources
- American Society for Microbiology Journals
Contains many full text peer-reviewed journal articles in HTML and PDF formats. Search select ASM journals by checking boxes for the Journal of Bacteriology, Journal of Virology, Clinical Microbiology Reviews, and the Journal of Clinical Microbiology.
- CDC - Center for Disease Control & Prevention – A-Z Disease Index
Browse the complete infectious disease index at the top of the page.
- Johns Hopkins Epidemiology, & Infection Control
Click on the “Infectious Diseases” link found on the left-hand side of this site.
- National Center for HIV, STD and TB Prevention
Click on the "A-Z Index” at the top of the page for health topics.
- National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
Provides authoritative introductory information on various diseases & conditions.
- National Center for Health Statistics
The “FASTSTATS A-Z” link on the right-hand side of the page provides morbidity and mortality data in the U.S. for various diseases.
- National Library of Medicine - MedlinePlus
Great authoritative medical information.
- Trends in Microbiology
Provides current articles and topics related to Microbiology
- Unseen Life on Earth: An Introduction to Microbiology
Produced by the American Society of Microbiology, this site provides streaming videos on a variety of topics in Microbiology that can be watched online. Requires Windows Media Player.
- What is a Microbe?
This site provides a helpful overview on the most common microbes.
- World Health Organization
Provides information about diseases from an international perspective. The “Health Topics” link on the left-hand side offers an alphabetical index to disease information.