How to find articles online using library services' databases
A database contains an online collection of articles (and article citations) that have been published in magazines, journals, and newspapers. Search for articles in a database using keywords (topic words).
Follow these steps to find articles:
- Access the Internet
- Type the URL "http://www.dccc.edu/library" in the address bar & hit "Enter".
- Once the library's web site opens, find the "Library Databases" button found under the photo and click on it.
- The page that opens up is the library services' A-Z Database page. You may use any of the databases listed on this page to search for articles. (Each database has different types of articles. Chose the database that contains the kind of articles needed for an assignment or research topic - the databases are also grouped by subject which you can select at the top of the page).
- Chose the database link found on the list called Academic Search Premier. This is a popular database used for finding magazine, journal, and newspaper articles.
- From off-campus, login with your delaGATE Username and Password to access the databases if prompted.
- The page that loads on your browser is the EBSCO Search Page.
- Place a check in the "Full-Text" box. "Full Text" means that the whole article is available online.
- Type your keywords into the "Find" field and click the "Search" button.
- Keywords must be entered in the following format (link them with the word "and"):
Right: "drug abuse" and teenagers
Wrong: What are the effects of drug abuse on teenagers?
- It is not necessary to type a raw topic statement or research question.
- Keyword phrases can be typed by using quotation marks: ex. "capital punishment", "drug abuse", "robert frost".
Single keywords do not need quotation marks: ex. diabetes.
- To view an article, click on either the "HTML Full Text" or the "PDF Full Text" link for that article.
Scholarly vs. Popular articles
In some classes you may be required to find a scholarly or a peer-reviewed article for an assignment. The link below helps explain what makes a scholarly article different from something you would find in a magazine such as Time or Rolling Stone.